At the 2019 BSM Summit in Los Angeles, annual awards were introduced in honor of Emmis Communications CEO Jeff Smulyan, and longtime sports radio host Tony Bruno.

Jeff and Tony have made a permanent impact on the sports media business, and we are thrilled to share their story and recognize their contributions with the sports media industry.

BSM congratulates Clay Travis of FOX Sports Radio, and Kraig Kitchin on Sound Mind LLC, and the National Radio Hall of Fame on being named our very first recipients of these awards.

We’re also grateful to FOX Sports CEO Eric Shanks, and Emmis Communications President of Programming Rick Cummings for providing the opening remarks to our awards ceremonies.

  • The Jeff Smulyan Award is given annually to a deserving member of the radio industry who has displayed a strong ability to lead, take risks, and make a positive difference on the sports radio business.
  • The Tony Bruno Award is presented annually to a current on-air host who is unique, unafraid, and possesses an ability to cut thru on the national stage.